The Municipal District of Monaghan

BrochureArising from the re-structuring of local government was the abolition of the five Town Councils and the establishment of three new Municipal Districts. These changes came into operation from the 1st June, 2014. As and from this date Local Government is operated by a single administration structure and will have a single corporate entity with headquarters at County Council Offices, The Glen, Monaghan.

The Municipal Districts were designed to enhance democratic governance, subsidiary and accountability while also improving operational efficiency and value for money. Elected Members arising from the recent local elections are elected in the first instance to the Municipal District (6 members), with the combined District membership constituting the membership of the plenary Council (18 members).

Administrative Headquarters:
Monaghan County Council, The Glen, Monaghan.

Telephone: 047 73777, Fax: 047 82739 and Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.




Municipal District Head Mr. John Murray
Municipal District Co-Ordinator Mr. Donal McElwain
Senior Staff Officer Ms. Bernie McElvaney
Staff Officer Ms. Bernie McMahon
Assistant Staff Officer Ms. Carmel Murphy
Clerical Officer Ms. Kim Dobbin
Clerical Officer Ms. Marcia McMeel
Engineer Mr. Dermot Deeney
Assistant Engineer Mr. Matthew Lambe
Foreman Mr. Dan Collins